Local Chapters

Home About Us Local Chapters
(MWA photo)

Advocacy in Action

Our local chapters are the heart of our community – the place where volunteers, members, and outdoor enthusiasts meet up, lead and learn from each other, and celebrate our wild places. Click below to see what your local chapter is up to, and contact your chapter or local field director to get involved.

Eastern Wildlands Chapter

Eastern Montana, including the Absaroka-Beartooth Wilderness, Pryor Mountains, Big Snowy Mountains, Terry Badlands, and Tongue River Breaks.
Visit the Eastern Wildlands Chapter page

Flathead-Kootenai Chapter

Northwest Montana, including the Bob Marshall and Mission Mountains Wildernesses, Scotchman Peaks, Whitefish Range, Tuchuck, Mt. Hefty, Thompson Seton, Ten Lakes, Jewel Basin, and the Wild Swan Range.
Visit the Flathead-Kootenai Chapter page

Island Range Chapter

Central Montana, including the Rocky Mountain Front, Upper Missouri River Breaks National Monument, CM Russell Wildlife Refuge, the Big Snowy Wilderness Study Area, and the Little Belt Mountains.
Visit the Island Range Chapter page

Madison-Gallatin Chapter

The Greater Yellowstone Region, centered on the Gallatin and Madison Ranges, extending into the Crazy Mountains, Bridger Range, Absaroka Range, and Beartooth Plateau.
Visit the Madison-Gallatin Chapter page

Shining Mountains Chapter

Central western Montana, including the Welcome Creek, Selway-Bitterroot, Rattlesnake, Mission Mountains, Anaconda-Pintler and Bob Marshall Wildernesses; Blue Joint, Sapphire Mountains and West Pioneers Wilderness Study Areas; and the Great Burn, Quigg, Dolus Lakes, Monture Creek, Swan Front, West Fork Clearwater, Stony Mountain, South Fork Lolo Creek, and Storm Lake Roadless areas.
Visit the Shining Mountains Chapter page

Southwestern Wildlands Chapter

Southwestern Montana, including the West Big Hole, East Pioneers, Lima Peaks, and Italian Peaks.
Visit the Southwestern Wildlands Chapter page 

Wild Divide Chapter

The Continental Divide, including all of Lewis and Clark County, plus those portions of the Helena National Forest in Jefferson, Broadwater and Powell Counties.
Visit the Wild Divide Chapter page